Subunits

ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY

At Arizona State University’s Polytechnic campus, anyone interested in Wildlife, Fisheries, or Rangeland is welcome to participate in the Wildlife and Restoration Student Association, or WRSA. We do a variety of activities including volunteering for state and federal agencies, helping organizations in conservation, camping, hiking, attending conferences, etc. Some projects that we have helped on recently include mist netting for bats at the Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, building tortoise enclosures with the Arizona Game and Fish Department, helping install stock tanks for wildlife on the Historic Conway Ranch in Tonto Basin. We will also be attending the Joint Annual Meeting of the Arizona and New Mexico Chapters of The Wildlife Society and American Fisheries Society in February in Las Cruces, New Mexico. Our club is very interested in getting more involved with fisheries, and hope to lay the groundwork for fisheries at the Polytechnic campus. For more information about the club you can visit https://orgsync.com/12668/chapter.

WRSA Officer Contact Info:

President – Brett Montgomery: bjmontg1@asu.edu

VP TWS – Nate Fyffe: nfyffe1@cox.net

VP AFS – Michelle Vebber: mvebber@asu.edu

Co VP SRM – Matt Kilford: mkilford@asu.edu

Co VP SRM – Tyler McCafferty: tmccaffe@asu.edu

Treasurer – Nicole Sanchez: nlsanch3@asu.edu

Secretary – Kelsie Buxbaum: kbuxbaum@asu.edu

 

BOSQUE SCHOOL

 

NEW MEXICO STATE UNIVERSITY

New Mexico State University Student Chapter of American Fisheries Society focuses on promoting education and restoration of aquatic ecology within our community.

Check out current activities on their Facebook page !

President, Hunter Falco: hrfalco@nmsu.edu

Vice President, Will Lubeneu:  wlubenau@nmsu.edu

Secretary, Drew Van Leiw: drewv@nmsu.edu

Treasurer, Cameron Melendez: tamalie@nmsu.edu

 

NORTHERN ARIZONA UNIVERSITY

 

SCOTTSDALE COMMUNITY COLLEGE

 

UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA

The recently formed U of A Student Chapter of the American Fisheries Society/Trout Unlimited/Wildlife would like to solicit volunteer opportunities for our members. Our society is composed of graduate and undergraduate students interested in Fisheries, Rangeland, and Wildlife.

President: Kaycie Waters, kayciewaters@email.arizona.edu

Vice President: Theresa Huckleberry, thuckleberry@email.arizona.edu

The faculty advisor for this organization is Scott Bonar, Unit Leader, Arizona Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit.

The U of A Student Chapter just started a listserv, and the address is uafws@list.arizona.edu. To subscribe, send an email to kayciewaters@email.arizona.edu with the text SUBSCRIBE fisheries Your Name (replace Your Name with your own first and last name – doesn’t have to be in all caps).

Once you are subscribed, you can post a message (e.g. trips, announcements, meetings, gatherings, etc.) to the listserv by sending an email to uafws@list.arizona.edu and receive information like volunteer opportunities for students. We are still working on our website, but in the meantime, we encourage all of our parent society members to join our listserv and share their expertise and opportunities with us!